Newport: A sip, a sip or a spoonful won’t do…

August 10, 2011

“No, I want it all…….’Cause a sip, a sip, or a spoonful won’t do, won’t do nothing for you. Cause a sip, a sip, a sip……” has been running Through my mind over and over again since hearing M. Ward at the NEWPORT FOLK FESTIVAL!!!!

If you know me well, you know I have an affinity for all things folk. And to spend a day with my love listening to fantastic folk music surrounded by fellow folky, folk-lovers is a good day indeed!  The festival has been a tradition for 52 years and it is set at the historic Fort Adams State Park which has refreshing panoramic views of the Newport Harbor. I loved hearing the seagulls between sets.

To my surprise and delight, I think I may have enjoyed the first band the most.

It consisted of three girls who refer to themselves as “Mountain Man.” Listen.

\”Animal Tracks\” by Mountain Man

They also sang an old tune from the 50’s by the DeZurik Sisters, which I looooved. It was yodelicous indeed.

                                             \"I Left Her Standing There\" by the Dezurik Sisters

Here are a few other highlights from the festival to wet your whistle:

\”Harlem River Blues\” by Justin Townes Earle

\”Dance Me to the End of Love\” by the Civil Wars

\”Cry, Cry Darlin\” by Chris Thile and Michael Daves

\”Someday\” by Middle Brother

\”Middle Brother\” by Middle Brother

These ladies liked it.

An eclectic bunch there was. I’d go again just for the people watching. Fashion at the festival was featured in Elle Street Style. (eh hem, I got my photo taken for it, but I guess I didn’t make the cut. haha) View it here anyways. Snore. (j.k.)

~~~

And speaking of Newport, Jeremy and I recently celebrated the 4th in Newport. We watched fireworks not once! Not twice! Ok twice. I’ve decided the 4th of July is THE best holiday.

Some Brooklyn friends joined us on the Jamestown Beach after our first fireworks party…

Photo by Karen Kristen Photography. View her stunning work here.

Some Providence friends joined us on the Providence “beach” for our second fireworks party.

I do loooove fireworks!

~~~

The following day, our Brooklyn friends joined us in Newport for some games sur la lawn.

Photo by Karen Kristen Photography

Photo by Karen Kristen Photography

Photo by Karen Kristen Photography

Ahhh Newport. I’m excited to do some more coastal exploring this August. Maybe lets all plan on going sailing! Can we agree to this? Here is an article I found recently on the “Seven Wonders of Newport.” So named after Newport just made the “Most Beautiful Places in America” list. Happy sailing!

One Response to “Newport: A sip, a sip or a spoonful won’t do…”

  1. hear, hear! take me with you! i love these pics.

Leave a Reply

